D&D 5E - Is Ray of Frost d8's or d6's in damage?

You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an alternative browser. Kobold Avenger I have one of the first printings of the PHB where it says that Ray of Frost does d6's for damage. But looking it up in D&D Beyond it says it does d8's in damage.

So I looked in the errata to see if this was changed, but there's no mention of Ray of Frost being changed anywhere in that. So which one does it actually do?


log in or register to remove this ad

billd91

billd91

Not your screen monkey (he/him)

Mine's 2nd printing and it has the d8s for damage so the correction occurred by then.


Not sure what you've got. I have 1st printing and it says d8.


vpuigdoller

I have one of the first print as well and it says d8.


SirMoogle

Mine says d8s. Some of the few damaging cantrips that I'm aware that do d6 damage are Acid Splash and Sword Burst, and those have the potential to hit multiple enemies.


Kobold Avenger

Looked again, looks like it was d8. I think I got Ray of Frost confused with Frostbite in my mind.


DeviousQuail

Looked again, looks like it was d8. I think I got Ray of Frost confused with Frostbite in my mind.

Happens to the best of us.

ncG1vNJzZmivp6x7prrWqKmlnF6kv6h706GpnpmUqHyqv4yrmLJln5t6p77OrKtmnGioerC%2BjJ1trGWZo3qlrcyanp5mZmyFeIGPaA%3D%3D